I emailed Near East to find out if a particular couscous flavor was vegan-this is the response-cant they answer yes or no?!...
Thank you for contacting us about our Near East Whole Grain Blends Garlic and Olive Oil Couscous. We do our best to provide accurate information so that you can make informed choices about the products you purchase.
We follow the FDA Code of Federal Regulations which specifies how every ingredient must be labeled. For instance, the term "natural flavor" in an ingredient listing can only be used when a natural food, such as fruits, vegetables, plant materials, dairy products, eggs, or spices are roasted, heated or extracted to concentrate the flavoring components.
Industry wide, ingredient suppliers are not required by federal labeling laws to disclose every component of a flavor formula. Ingredient suppliers consider these formulas highly confidential, therefore specific information is not available.
With that said, many consumers who are concerned with animal derived ingredients find kosher certification helpful in determining which products meet their needs. Kosher
kosher law does not identify the presence of fish or eggs. However fish and eggs are two of the eight most common allergens, so we always identify their presence on the box if they are used. You can find the allergen warning (if any) underneath the ingredient listing on the back of the box.
We thank you for your interest in our products